Physics Nobel today – update — awarded to Haroche and Wineland


Well the rumours were wrong and the prize has been awarded to Serge Haroche of France and David Wineland of the US.

UPDATE: There is a rumour doing the rounds in Sweden this morning that the Physics prize will go to Alain Aspect of France and Anton Zeilinger of Austria.


There is still some speculation that the Physics Nobel to be announced today could go to Higgs and CERN scientists for the much-hyped,  “non-discovery” of the Higgs Boson but somehow I doubt it.

 Thomson Reuters proposes three possible winners:

1. Charles H. Bennett, Gilles Brassard and William K. Wootters

For their pioneering description of a protocol for quantum teleportation, which has since been  experimentally verified

2. Leigh T. Canham

For discovery of photoluminescence in porous silicon

 3.Stephen E. Harris and Lene V. Hau

For the experimental demonstration of electromagnetically induced transparency (Harris) and of  ‘slow light’ (Harris and Hau)

There is an outside chance that it may be awarded for work straddling Physics and Chemistry – in the world of  nano-particles perhaps.

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: